Faculty

The LSU Department of Geography and Anthropology has consistently been ranked as a top doctoral geography program in the country and our faculty have made distinguished contributions at all levels of academic life. Eleven faculty members have held titled professorships including four Boyd Professors – LSU’s most prestigious designation – and two Alumni Professors. Five distinguished professorships are currently occupied by faculty members and several department faculty have served in numerous positions of leadership within the disciplines of geography and anthropology.

Chair

 
 
 

Current Faculty

John Anderson

John M. Anderson
Associate Librarian
janders@lsu.edu

Juliet Brophy

Juliet K. Brophy
Associate Professor (Undergraduate Advisor - Anthropology)
jbrophy@lsu.edu

Vincent Brown

Vincent Brown
Assistant Professor - Research
vbrow31@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Sarah Franzen's Photo

Sarah Franzen
Assistant Professor
sfranzen@lsu.edu

Dr. Huanping Huang Photo

Huanping Huang
Assistant Professor
hhuang@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Barry Keim Photo

Barry D. Keim
Richard J. Russell Professor and Louisiana State Climatologist (DSM Advisor)
keim@lsu.edu

Dr. Kory Konsoer Photo

Kory Konsoer
Associate Professor
kkonsoer@lsu.edu

Dr. Michael Leitner Photo

Michael Leitner
Carl O. Sauer Professor
mleitne@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Ginesse Listi Photo

Ginesse A. Listi
Associate Research Professor
Director, FACES Lab
glisti1@lsu.edu

 

 

Dr. Heather McKillop Photo

Heather McKillop
Thomas and Lillian Landrum Alumni Professor
hmckill@lsu.edu

Dr. Steven Namikas Photo

Steven Namikas
Associate Professor (Undergraduate Advisor - Geography)
snamik1@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Helen Regis Photo

Helen A. Regis
Associate Professor
hregis1@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Rebecca Saunders Photo

Rebecca Saunders
WG Haag Professor of Archaeology (Undergraduate Advisor - Anthropology)
rsaunde@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Robert Tague Photo

Robert Tague
Earleene Nolan Sanders Alumni Professor
rtague@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Jill Trepanier Photo

Jill Trepanier
Associate Professor
(Graduate Advisor)
jtrepa3@lsu.edu

Dr. Fahui Wang Photo

Fahui Wang
Cyril & Tutta Vetter Alumni Professor
Associate Dean, the Graduate School
fwang@lsu.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Lei Wang Photo

Lei Wang
Professor (GIS Advisor)
leiwang@lsu.edu

 

Dr. Teresa Wilson PhotoTeresa V. Wilson
Assistant Professor - Research
tvwilson@lsu.edu

 

 

 

 

Faculty Emeriti

Jay Edwards

Jay D. Edwards
Professor Emeritus
gaedwa@lsu.edu

Anthony J. Lewis

Anthony J. Lewis
Professor Emeritus
galewi@lsu.edu

 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 

Associated and Adjunct Faculty

Dr. DeWitt Braud Jr.
DeWitt Braud Jr.
Director, Academic Area, Coastal Studies Institute
spatial analysis and GIS modeling, environmental remote sensing and image processing

Lynee Carter

Lynne M. Carter
Adjunct Professor

Kerry Chance
Kerry Chance
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Diana Greenlee

Diana Greenlee
Adjunct Professor

 

Helmer

Matthew Helmer
Adjunct Professor

 

Hemmerling

Scott A. Hemmerling
Adjunct Assistant Professor

 

 

Joon


Joon Heo
Adjunct Professor

 

McGimpsey

Charles R. “Chip” McGimsey
State Archaeologist Division of Archaeology 
Adjunct

 

Rahder

Micha Rahder
Adjunct Professor

 

 

Mark Rees

Mark Rees
Adjunct Professor



Ristroph

E. Barrett Ristroph
Adjunct Professor