LSU University College Hosted Phi Eta Sigma’s Annual Initiation Ceremony for 49 Freshmen Scholastic Achievers

11/17/2014 12:27 PM

BATON ROUGE – LSU University College hosted its annual Phi Eta Sigma Initiation Ceremony on Wednesday, Nov, 5, at LSU Student Union Royal Ballroom. University College's Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma inducted 49 freshmen scholastic achievers.


Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society rewarding first-collegiate-year scholarship. Since 1928, the LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma has inducted more than 10,500 students. The goal of the society is to encourage and reward academic excellence among full-time, freshmen students in institutions of higher learning, who have a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average. Inductees receive national recognition, membership, and undergraduate and graduate scholarship opportunities of more than $300,000.


“Phi Eta Sigma is a well-respected honor society of which I am pleased to be the advisor for the LSU Chapter,” said R. Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “This fall semester’s induction of 49 students is another means for University College to recognize the academic excellence of our 2013 freshmen class.”


The oldest and largest first-year honor society, Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois on March 22, 1923. Since its founding, more than 1 million scholars have been inducted into Phi Eta Sigma, and more than 370 collegiate chapters have been established throughout the United States.


University College salutes these deserving LSU students in succeeding in their academic achievements, and expresses our gratitude to parents and friends for their continued support.


LSU Chapter of Phi Eta Sigma 2014 Inductees



Dalton R. Guidry


Ft. Lauderdale

Brandon Ryan Goldman\



Samuel Lewis Bonnie


John’s Creek
Makala Shea Sanders



Addison K. Hensel


Baton Rouge
Christian P. Burog
Lauren Duke
Alexandra K. Gaudet
Alexas K. Gaudet
Elizabeth Joy Giattina
Lindsey E. Mouton
Madison K. Newman
Kathleen B. Niebalski
Hailey M. Orr
Hannah Leigh Pittman
Sally C. Robichaux


Madison M. Robert


Denham Springs
Rachel Crowder


Barrett S. Burgdahl
Vidal Villela


Sarah Nell Hunt


Emma Ory Castay
Elise M. Loisel


Ruth L. Juneau
Victoria L. Ranzino


Lake Charles
Madison Wright Crain
Abby Elizabeth Lewis


Haley E. Kenny
Madeline C. Shannon
Lauren E. Sutton


Nicholas Vizier Comeaux


Austin F. Falcon
Jessica Hanzo
Kevin W. Hartline
Morgan Elizabeth Landry
Patrick M. White


New Orleans
Carly T. Easley
Nathaniel S. Hand


Christoph Berend Kelm


Derek P. Knight


River Ridge
Hayley M. Montgomery


John David Lorence
Molly Robin
Taylor C. Wilmore


Kyle B. Lewis


Logan B. Dupre



Ashley Lane Beneke


Cole P. Miracle



Alexandria C. Martin


About LSU University College
Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU. Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU. University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling. Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars and Summer Scholars. These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.


For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at





Contact Jacquelyn Schulz Craddock
LSU University College


Contact Aaron Looney
LSU Media Relations

Posted on Monday, November 17, 2014