Students from Across Louisiana Honored at LSU University College 2016 Spring Awards Reception

Event honors students with scholarships and LSU faculty and staff with awards


Spring Awards

LSU President F. King Alexander; Haley Matthews, University College’s Lonnie J. and Carol S. Dore Family Scholar; Lonnie J. Dore, LSU ’76 graduate of the General College, retired vice president of sales and vice president of information technology with Kellogg’s; and Carol S. Dore, LSU ’77 graduate of the General College.University College

BATON ROUGE – LSU University College presented its annual “Celebration of Excellence” Spring Awards program on Thursday, March 17, at The Club on Union Square. The college awarded $80,000 through 65 undergraduate student scholarships, five LSU faculty teaching awards, two graduate teaching assistant awards, and one LSU Advisor of the Year Award.

“Two important components of student retention are the opportunities to reward students for their academic achievements and to recognize outstanding teaching in the classroom. University College is pleased to have generous donors that allow us to offer scholarships to students who have demonstrated a commitment to their college studies and for us to acknowledge some of LSU’s outstanding undergraduate faculty with teaching awards,” said Paul Ivey, executive director of LSU University College. “Our ‘Celebration of Excellence’ ceremony allows us the opportunity to publicly recognize these young scholars and deserving faculty.”

University College salutes all of these deserving individuals and expresses gratitude to donors for their continued support.


Vincent E. Cangelosi Scholarship
Ashley Paysse – Mandeville, La.

Delise-Bordelon Family Scholarship
Kelly Lewis –Metairie, La.

King-Sollberger Endowed Scholarship
Ashton Vaughn – Alexandria, La

Anthony J. Losavio Scholarship
Brooke Fontenot – Longville, La.

Josephine R. Losavio Scholarship
Tara Malone– Mandeville, La.

Marjorie Longsdorf Memorial Scholarship
Autumn Smith – Baton Rouge, La.

Melissa Dillon-Dotson Scholarship
Leonardo Martinez – Metairie, La.

Lonnie J. and Carol S. Dore Family Scholarship
Haley Matthews – Manassas, Va.

Dr. Gerald L. & Gayle W. Foret Scholarship
Thomas Johnson – Monroe, La.
Kellen Rooney – Mandeville, La.
Alexander Singleton – Zachary, La.

Nona Mack Haynes Scholarship
Alex James – Baton Rouge, La.

Elayn Hunt Memorial Scholarship
Caroline Welker – Metairie, La.

Dr. Mahlon P. Poche, Jr. Scholarship
Therese Marie Arceneaux – Baton Rouge, La.
Isabella Hundley – Lafayette, La.

Ryan Paul Shannon Memorial Scholarship
Victoria Monzon –Metairie, La.

Glenda W. Streva Allied Health Scholarship
Kelly Derise – New Iberia, La.

Sue Tweedy Memorial Scholarship
Bridgette Roundtree – Denham Springs, La.

University College Athletic Department Endowed Scholarship
Nicolas Noiset – Aceworth, Ga.
Victoria Dekerlegand – Katy, Texas
Anna Elliot – Oklahoma City, Okla.
Olivia Williams – Ellicott City, Md.

University College General Scholarship
Hayley Blaise – Folsom, La.

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Sophomore Award
Abby Harris – Gonzales, La.

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Scholarship
Cayden Alexander – Bossier City, La.
William Arseneaux – Destrehan, La.
Marli Baquet – Metairie, La.
Beau Barnidge – San Juan Capistrano, Calf.
Johneisha Batiste – Brusly, La.
Taylor Boudreaux – Houma, La.
Amanda Clements – Rowlett, Texas
Rachel Collignon – Slidell, La.
Jessica Dunn – Kenner, La.
Brittany Freeman – Dry Prong, La.
Christina Georgacopoulos – Marietta, Ga.
Harley Gross – Redlands, Calf.
Jeremy Hebert – Slidell, La.
Corinne Hebert – Metairie, La.
Honor Herring – Alexandria, La.
EllaRuth Hill – Niceville, Fla.
Lauren Hives – Baton Rouge, La.
Tia Jordan – Baton Rouge, La.
Nicholas Kennedy – Harahan, La.
John Le – Baton Rouge, La.
Mary Louviere – Saint Francisville, La.
Quinn Malbrough – Houma, La.
Zachary Maurin – La Place, La.
Bonibelle Medina –Slidell, La.
Kirby Moore – Baton Rouge, La.
Brent Neal – Covington, La.
Lauren Odenwald – Baton Rouge, La.
Abigail Perrault – Baton Rouge, La.
Reece Reinbolt – Metairie, La.
Alyssa Simoneaux – Lafayette, La.
Jessica Sims – Shreveport, La.
Emma Smith – Lafayette, La.
Heather Soulier – Slaughter, La.
Laura Staub – Denham Springs, La.
Alyssa Storey – Metairie, La.
Kayla Swanson – New Orleans, La.
Max Theriot – Mandeville, La.
Morgan Thompson – Harahan, La.
Skyler Vicknair – Mandeville, La.
Sydney Wentzell – New Orleans, La.
Casey Wortham – Roswell, Ga.



George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award
Steven M. Pomarico, LSU College of Science, Department of Biological Sciences

Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award
Cindy Lane Parr, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Austin Scirratt, LSU College of Science, Department of Mathematics

LSU Advisor of the Year
Stephanie Erie, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award
Emily M. Elliott, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of Psychology
Philip Keel Geheber, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of English
Jason L. Harman, LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences, Department of Psychology
Shannon Walsh, LSU College of Music & Dramatic Arts, Department of Theatre


University College Scholarship Selection Committee included Marvin Borgmeyer; Sarah Clayton; Tim Fields; Jerry Hebert; Gary E. Huntley; Marybeth Lima; and Paul Tweedy.

University College Teaching Award Selection Committee included Marybeth Lima, chair; Marvin Borgmeyer; Sarah Clayton; and Anna C. Sightler.

University College Tiger Athletic Foundation Teaching Award recipients are nominated by LSU students enrolled in University College.

Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU.  Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU. University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling. Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars and Summer Scholars. These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.

For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at



Contact Jacquelyn Schulz Craddock
University College


Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations