University College Seeks Nominations for Teaching Awards and Advisor of the Year

BATON ROUGE – LSU University College is honored to accept nominations for the following notable awards.

The George H. Deer Distinguished Teaching Award is open to any LSU faculty member who teaches courses for which University College students are enrolled, either the Center for Freshman Year, or UCFY, or the Center for Advising and Counseling, or UCAC.  Nominations should be restricted to persons having taught University College students in three of the past four regular semesters including the semester in which the award is made.

The Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award is given in recognition of outstanding teaching ability and service to students. At the freshman level (1000- and 2000- level courses) teaching assistants make up a significant portion of the instructional program. The nominations are limited to graduate teaching assistants who have an academic or fiscal year appointment.

Criteria for both awards: Nominations should be made on the basis of excellence in teaching, genuine interest in students, outstanding relationships with colleagues, and demonstrated leadership in the promotion of improved instructional programs.

The Advisor of the Year Award is based on the national criteria of the National Academic Advising Association, or NACADA.  The award is designed to honor individuals who are making significant contributions to the improvement of academic advising and to disseminate information about these contributions to other professionals in the field.  Only one nominee will be selected. The nominee selected from the campus will become LSU’s Advisor of the Year and his/her name will be submitted as LSU’s representative for national competition as National Advisor of the Year. Any individual employed as an academic advisor at LSU may be nominated.  The nominee need not be a NACADA member.

LSU has a rich history of award-winning counselors and advisors receiving this prestigious national honor, including numerous consecutive wins – Stephanie Erie in 2016, Bridget Robicheaux in 2015, Robbie S. Bowen and Ashley Granger in 2014, Andrea L. Jones in 2013, Annette L. Yancy in 2012, Joyce Wakefield in 2009, Rachel L. Singleton in 2008, and Tim Fields in 2007.

Criteria: Nominations will be evaluated on the evidence of effective advising qualities and practices that distinguish the nominee as an outstanding academic advisor.

Complete nomination packets can be found at at Scholarships & Awards, or directly HERE.

Nominations for all awards must be submitted electronically no later Friday, Jan. 6, 2017 to Jacquelyn Schulz Craddock at

Since 1933, LSU University College has served as the portal of entry for students enrolled at LSU.  Academic and personal success is the hallmark of a well-rounded student, and University College provides a foundation of support services for students beginning their academic careers at LSU.  University College has two enrollment divisions: The Center for Freshman Year and The Center for Advising and Counseling.  Additionally, University College offers retention-specific programs: Student Support Services, Ronald E. McNair Research Scholars, and Summer Scholars.  These academic support programs focus on particular student populations and are a significant part of the role and mission of University College.

For more information on LSU University College, visit or follow the conversation at



Contact Jacquelyn Schulz Craddock
University College


Ernie Ballard
LSU Media Relations