Institutional Effectiveness Council

The Institutional Effectiveness Council (IEC), under the direction of the Office of Academic Affairs (OAA), serves as a steering committee to provide oversight for institutional effectiveness functions across academic, support, and administrative units. 


The IEC provides recommendations for guiding institutional effectiveness policies and procedures by promoting a continuous improvement framework to achieve expected outcomes and to meet related SACSCOC expectations, including the following objective set forth in the IEC Bylaws:

  • 1.2.a. Student Learning Outcomes
    The IEC provides guidance in developing and implementing appropriate policies and procedures to enhance the assessment of student learning outcomes for all degree programs, stand-alone academic certificates, and units defined as academic support and student services. [Note: Oversight for general education program assessment is provided by the Faculty Senate Integrated Learning Core Committee with support from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.]
  • 1.2.b. Administrative/Operational Outcomes
    The IEC provides guidance in developing and implementing appropriate policies and procedures to enhance the assessment of administrative/operational outcomes in conjunction with the university’s strategic planning annual reporting requirements.
  • 1.2.c. Program Review
    The IEC provides oversight for the academic program review process, which is required for all degree programs and stand-alone academic certificates. The IEC recognizes those degree programs with specialized accreditation may be eligible for a modified program review. In addition, administrative program review is handled on an ad hoc basis as requested by the administration or the unit.

Contact Us

Sandi Gillilan
Associate Vice Provost

Email Sandi

Claire Sassic Young
Project Coordinator

Email Claire


Related Documents

IEC Bylaws


To accomplish the purpose, the IEC is charged with the following:

  • Advising the Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE) for opportunities to strengthen the institution’s continuous improvement activities.
  • Assisting in reviews of annual outcomes activities (i.e., plans, reports, etc.) to provide a comprehensive feedback loop.
  • Communicating with associated groups across campus to promote assessment efforts and to help inform of processes, timelines, etc.
  • Leading the internal review process for academic and administrative program reviews, including approving external reviewers, serving as chair for an internal committee, and developing recommendations based on the internal review.
  • Recommending considerations for professional development opportunities related to institutional effectiveness (e.g., workshops, speakers, topical resources).
  • Reviewing policies, procedures, structures, and systems periodically to seek opportunities for improvements across all facets of institutional effectiveness.
  • Serving on functional IEC work groups to accomplish the charge.


The IEC membership is representative of the academic, support, and administrative units so as to promote collaboration, enhance communication, and facilitate institutional effectiveness activities. IEC members serve a three-year term that may be renewed; appointments begin with the fall semester.


Unit Represented Member Title Term
Institutional Effectiveness Sandi Gillilan Associate Vice Provost -
Associate Dean Academic Council Craig Harvey Associate Dean, Engineering 2021-24


Faculty Representatives (appointed by college)

Unit Represented Member Title Term
College of Agriculture Richard Cooper Professor, Animal Science 2021-24
College of Art & Design Rod Parker Professor, Art 2021-24
College of Business Daniel Whitman Associate Professor, Management 2021-24
College of Coast & Environment John White Professor, Oceanography & Coastal Sciences 2020-23
College of Engineering Laura Ikuma Associate Professor, Industrial Engineering 2022-25
College of Human Sciences & Education Alex Garn Professor, Kinesiology 2022-25
College of Humanities & Social Sciences Heather Rackin Associate Professor, Sociology 2021-24
Law Center TBD    
LSU Libraries Sigrid Kelsey Director, Scholarly Publishing 2021-24
School of Mass Communication Jenee Slocum Professor, Mass Communication 2020-23
College of Music & Dramatic Arts Jim Murphy Professor, Theatre 2020-23
College of Science Grover Waldrop Professor, Biological Sciences 2022-25
School of Veterinary Medicine Masami Yoshimura Associate Professor, Comparative Biomedical Sciences 2021-24


Ex officio Members (non-voting)

Unit Represented Member Title
Institutional Effectiveness Tara Rose Director of Assessment